landau-fine-art

Landau Fine Art

Art tour

Montreal, a city of many enticements, had conspicuously lacked a major art gallery of international calibre until the summer of 1987 when Landau Fine Art opened to critical acclaim in the gracious row of grey-stones known as Passage du Musée. The creation of Robert Landau, a dynamic Montreal businessman, has focused primarily on the great masters of the early to mid twentieth century such as Picasso, Matisse, Dubuffet, Léger, Giacometti, Jawlensky, Moore, Kandinsky, Modigliani and Van Dongen.

In the intervening two decades, the gallery has expanded to well over 20,000 square feet of elegant space, featuring hand-crafted boiserie and superb antique carpets that compliment the exceptional works of art in buildings that neighbour the Montreal Museum of Fine Arts on Sherbrooke Street West.

The gallery’s trademark “Only Masterworks” is its creed and a testament to the extensive travelling, hard labour and care of Robert and Alice Landau in order to acquire the unique and extraordinary works that hang on these gallery walls. The success of their endeavours is reflected in how frequently the gallery is requested by leading international Museums to loan works for major exhibitions and important retrospectives.

At any given moment, the Landau collection includes many historical and influential works of art by the leading artists of the twentieth century. Prime examples of Cubist, Post-Impressionist, Fauvist, Futurist and Expressionist art abound. Currently the collection features a monumental work by Pablo Picasso, a large-scale art-brut oil of Henri Michaux by Jean Dubuffet and an exquisite constellation period painting by Joan Miró.

Landau Fine Art regularly exhibits at major international art fairs in Maastricht, New York, Chicago, Basel and Miami, and the constant museum-quality of its exhibits prompted one well-known buyer to once state “Landau is the only art gallery where I can literally buy with my eyes shut!”


1456, Sherbrooke Street West (#200)
Montréal, Québec
H3G 1K4

514 849-3311

http://www.landaufineart.ca

Monday to Friday: 9AM - 5PM
Saturday and Sunday: CLOSED

landau-fine-art

Landau Fine Art

Circuit des arts

Montréal, une ville de nombreuses attractions, manquait visiblement d’une galerie d’art majeur de calibre international jusqu’à l’été 1987, lorsque Landau Fine Art a ouvert acclamé par le public dans la gracieuseté de gris des pierres connues sous le nom de passage du Musée. La création de Robert Landau, un homme d’affaires dynamique de Montréal, a porté principalement sur les grands maîtres du début du XXe siècle à la mi tels que Picasso, Matisse, Dubuffet, Léger, Giacometti, Jawlensky, Moore, Kandinsky, Modigliani et Van Dongen.

Durant les deux décennies écoulées, la galerie a été élargi de plus de 20,000 pieds carrés d’espaces élégants, avec de belles boiseries et de superbes tapis anciens qui complètent les œuvres d’art exceptionnelles dans les bâtiments, voisin du Musée des Beaux Arts sur la rue Sherbrooke Ouest.

Marque de la galerie « Masterworks Seul » est son credo et un témoignage de l’étendue de déplacement, le travail dur et de soins de Robert et Alice Landau en vue d’acquérir des œuvres uniques et extraordinaires qui pendent sur les murs de la galerie. Le succès de leurs efforts se reflète dans la fréquence des demandes par les plus grands musées internationaux à des œuvres de prêt pour les grandes expositions et rétrospectives importantes.

À un certain moment, la collection Landau comprend de nombreux ouvrages historiques et les plus influents de l’art par les plus grands artistes du XXe siècle. Les principaux exemples de cubiste, post-impressionniste, fauve, futuriste et de l’art expressionniste abondent. Actuellement, la collection comporte une œuvre monumentale de Pablo Picasso, à grande échelle l’art-brut d’huile d’Henri Michaux par Jean Dubuffet et une peinture constellation exquise période de Joan Miró.

Landau Fine Art expose régulièrement dans les grands salons d’art internationaux à Maastricht, New York, Chicago, Bâle et Miami, et la constante de qualité musée de ses expositions a amené un acheteur très bien connu a cité que « Landau est la seule galerie d’art où je peux littéralement acheter les yeux fermés! »


1456, rue Sherbrooke Ouest (#200)
Montréal, Québec
H3G 1K4

514 849-3311

http://www.landaufineart.ca

Lundi au vendredi : 9h - 17h
Samedi et dimanche : Fermé